Wedding Lookbook – 1

The wedding season is going on in full swing, and an Indian wedding is the quintessential form of celebration. Weddings have never failed to excite me, and everything about wedding is a source of ecstasy for me – be it the couple’s gorgeous outfits, intricate mehendi, pretty décor, or the sumptuous buffet, just to name a few. Every day someone is getting married. Recently one of my best friends got married in a 2-day ceremony.

For this wedding, I decided to give it a shot by designing my outfits myself, and in 3 functions out of 4, I wore my self-designed outfits. Some key points to keep in mind while designing the outfits are your

  • Personal style
  • Body shape
  • Personal color

If you try to recreate what someone has worn, you are taking a risk as it might not suit you.

Mehendi Function

DSC00091

For mehendi, a function which is always held during the day, I wanted something simple and of not so bright colours. After experimenting with some styles, I decided to create the Anarkali kurti and Palazzo pants. I came up with the combination of sea green and yellow. I have used Silk fabric for the whole garment. To be honest, I didn’t like the outfit much when I saw it for the first time, and I knew that I had to club it with a necklace to make it interesting. But after seeing these photos now I think that it was indeed a good decision to keep it simple, and I have developed a special fondness for this dress.

This outfit can be teamed with a jacket or an embroidered dupatta as well to create a whole new different set of looks.

DSC00157

Sangeet

DSC00189

I feel Sangeet is the best part of wedding celebrations as I enjoy dancing way too much. Since I was running out of time, I decided to go for ready-to-wear options this time. I bought this gown from a local store, and it was love at first sight with the colour combination of the gown. Also, the mirror work and the princess cut, highlighted with the contrast colour, were really admirable. Not to miss out the cut-outs at waist covered with net. To complete the look I just had to wear a pair of earrings and a bracelet. Softly curled hair, dark lips and 5 inch heels were enough to make me look all dressed up!

dsc00213

dsc00196

Which look did you like the most?

The Haldi and the Wedding look coming soon in the next blog. Stay tuned!

Love,
Mansi

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Leave a Reply

