Wedding Lookbook – 2

In my last blog I mentioned that I would be writing about two more looks on the same wedding occasion in an upcoming blog. So, here they are!

Haldi

dsc_6297-2

For Haldi, the given theme was Bandhani or Leheriya. As I am not a big fan of Leheriya, I decided to make something out of Bandhani. I wanted to create an Indo-Western outfit for this. I first created a cape and it took me quite a while to decide what I would be wearing with the cape. Finally, I came up with the idea of wearing plain georgette short kurti and dhoti pants. I knew that I wouldn’t use 3 bright colours for this. Hence, I decided to make dhoti pants out of golden silk fabric. For the kurti, I selected orange colour and based on that I selected Sky blue Badhani Dupatta out of which the cape is made.

When you wear different pieces together, it is very important that the pieces integrate with each other. By this I mean that the pieces should appear that they belong to each other. So, I took the bottom golden colour and got the same colour lace for the Kurti and the Cape. The best thing about this outfit is that all the garments are versatile and can be worn with different garments to create entirely different new looks.

img-20161126-wa0003

dsc_6295

(These amazing pictures are captured by Mahe Photography. You can find him on
IG – Mahe Photography
FB –Mahe Photography)

Wedding

dsc00366

The wedding look was decided since long. I was sure about the embroidered blouse, Plain skirt and embroidered Dupatta. So, first, I got the embroidered blouse made, and based on that I decided the colour of the skirt. I totally love the embroidery on the sleeves with the peacock designs. For the bottom, I selected Satin-Silk fabric as it was a night affair. As there was very less time left I chose this golden net embroidered dupatta and teamed the outfit with the traditional jewellery.

Every piece from this outfit can be used separately. The blouse can be worn with the saree or another skirt. The Dupatta and the skirt are very versatile because of the golden colour, which is said to be wardrobe neutral for wedding clothes.

dsc00428

dsc00423

Lovely pictures of this outfits are clicked by my friend Nandita.

If you have any query about how to get ideas from or how to reuse any of your such outfits, do get in touch with me.

Love,
Mansi

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Leave a Reply

